Create Config

Type of Jurisdictions Involved





Specific Jurisdictions Involved

  • Dane County - Towns of: Blooming Grove, Burke, Madison, Middleton, Westport, and Windsor;
  • Villages of: DeForest, Maple Bluff, McFarland, Shorewood Hills, and Waunakee;
  • Cities of: Fitchburg, Madison, Middleton, Monona, Sun Prairie, and Verona;
  • Other Members: Dane County, UW-Madison





Type of Agreement

Collaboration under a single Phase 1 stormwater permit

Implementation and Incubation

  • Formed in 2000 - members signed three intergovernmental agreements in 2000 to formalize the partnership - Cooperative Agreement to Apply Jointly for Storm Water Discharge Permit
  • Intergovernmental Agreement to Create and Fund a Position Responisible for Storm Water Management Education and Outreach
  • Intergovernmental Agreement to Fund a Joint Storm Water Monitoring Program through the Scientific Evaluation of Rain Gardens

Factors Involved

  • Capital Area Regional Planning Commission (CARPC) was integral in inviting the participating municipalities to a series of discussions regarding the benefits of collaboration
  • UW-Extension and Wisconsin DNR integral in the formation of the Madison Area Municipal Storm Water Partnership (MAMSWaP)


  • Pooled resources for information and education programs, as well as monitoring, mapping, and reporting activities


  • Initial survey
  • Five-year outreach plan
  • Two media campaigns
  • Including TV and radio ads
  • One with evaluation
  • Rain garden study
  • Native plant grant program
  • Leaf program with billboards
  • Yard signs and brochures
  • Wisconsin DNR UNPS and SW planning grants in 2003 and 2006
  • Storm water video
  • Storm water curriculum
  • Website development
  • Resource materials for member use


Marcia Hartwig

Storm Water Education Coordinator

(608) 224-3746

Choose Your Region: Southwest
Actions: Permalink